Media Contact: Heidi Vanderlee
Tel: (212) 777-0900 x230
Fax: (212) 477-6996
For Immediate Release November 2012

Lee Hyla’s Paradigm Lost for Saxophone Quartet
Paradigm Lost

New York, NY — Lee Hyla’s latest publication for saxophone quartet is comprised of one continuous movement, exploring the contrast between quiet, delicate, recessive music, and more aggressive takes on what, down deep, is similar material. The attempts to resolve these different takes, or the failure to resolve them, are at the heart of Paradigm Lost (WE15 - Score and Parts - $24.99). As the music progresses, the quartet divides into various duo and solo/trio combinations in which the recurring thematic materials are heard in changing contexts. Paradigm Lost is dedicated with enthusiasm and respect to the Prism Quartet. Dur.: 12’

Lee Hyla was born in Niagara Falls, New York, and grew up in Greencastle, Indiana. He has written for numerous performers including the Orpheus Chamber Orchestra, the Kronos Quartet (with Allen Ginsberg), The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, Speculum Musicae, the Boston Modern Orchestra Project, the Lydian String Quartet, Triple Helix, Tim Smith, Tim Berne, Laura Frautschi, Rhonda Rider, Stephen Drury, Mia Chung, Judith Gordon, Mary Nessinger, Boston Musica Viva, and House Blend, the resident ensemble at the Kitchen. Hyla has received commissions from the Koussevitzky, Fromm, Barlow, and Naumburg foundations, the Mary Flagler Carey Charitable Trust, Concert Artist's Guild, three commissions from Chamber Music America and two Meet the Composer/Reader's Digest Consortium commissions. He has also been the recipient of the Stoeger Prize from the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, a Guggenheim Fellowship, two National Endowment for the Arts fellowships, the Goddard Lieberson Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, the St. Botolph Club Award, and the Rome Prize. Hyla holds a B.M. with honors from New England Conservatory and a M.A. from the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Studies with Malcolm Peyton and David Lewin. He has been on the faculty of the New England Conservatory and currently is the Harry N. and Ruth F. Wyatt Chair of Music Composition at Northwestern University. Lee Hyla's compositions are published exclusively by Carl Fischer Music. To learn more about this composer, visit

Carl Fischer Music is celebrating 140 years of providing the highest quality educational and performance print music. For more information about new publications from Carl Fischer Music or to locate a dealer near you, log on to or e-mail us at For review copies of the publications in this release, please contact Heidi Vanderlee at 212.777.0900 ext. 230 or send an e-mail to at your convenience.

# # #

Carl Fischer Music – 65 Bleecker St. New York NY 10012
Media Contact: Heidi Vanderlee (212) 777-0900 x230

Click the cover image above to download larger version (JPG)

Click here if you do not wish to receive our press releases.