Break of Day

Michael John Trotta

Text by John Donne
Performing Ensemble: Men's Chorus
Instrumentation: TB Voices, Piano, Optional Oboe
Item Number: CM9438
Number of Pages: 16
Duration: :04:29
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Break of Day
Media Icon
Break of Day

Quick Overview

Michael Trotta's new (T)TB arrangement contains lyric, legato vocal lines which unfold to reveal a subtle interplay between voices, interwoven with piano and an optional obligato line. The text, an account of two lovers faced with parting, concludes with the yearning refrain, Stay or else my joys will die, which gives voice to the dichotomy of the feelings of joy and pain associated with closeness and separation from a loved one. Also available for SATB (CM9296) and SSA voices (CM9280).


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Materials

File Description
Media Icon
Break of Day - Accompaniment

Additional Information

Duration 4:29