Concerto for 2 Pianos and Orchestra

Jerzy Sapieyevski

Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The composition is basically in the standard form of a concerto. It consists of three movements. In its material the concerto shows the new, 20th century romanticism. There are slight influences of jazz especially in the third movement when the composer quotes one of the themes he composed as a young boy for a jazz group in Poland.

The dramatic statement also comes in the third movement where after a joyous, dancing section, a hidden harmonization of a choral (?Jesu meine Freude?) takes over and becomes the coda of the concerto. This idea is very symbolic for the composer. At the time of composing this piece he was contemplating religion, its meaning in life and the fact that even for non-religious people, Faith often becomes a powerful background of everything we do. The positive, optimistic thinking but at the same time very reflective feeling was the guide in writing the piece.

Technically, the piece shows a variety of approaches. The solo pianos are often treated as an internal part of the orchestra and thus enhance the colors and different moods through which the piece makes its journey.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Duration 00:18:00
Orchestration 2Pno. soli; 3 3 3 2 - 5 3 3 1; Timp. Perc. Str.; Soprano ad lib.