Concerto for Orchestra

Takuma Itoh

Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The Concerto for Orchestra is an arrangement of a piece written in the summer of 2005 ? Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra ? which was commissioned and premiered by the New York Youth Symphony with the Shanghai Quartet as the soloist. In tonight?s version, the virtuosic music that was originally written for the string quartet is divided up amongst the orchestra members. The piece is organized into a three-part ABA form. After a short, slow introduction, the piece takes off into a fast and frenzied section. The piece proceeds into a slow middle section where the soloists in the orchestra are able to show off their lyrical side. The final section essentially recapitulates the first section, only this time, it is taken at a faster tempo. There is a cadenza near the very end in which the principal players of the string section form a string quartet, very much reminiscing of the original version of the piece.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 2005, rev. 2006
Duration 00:12:00
Orchestration 3(Picc.) 3(E.H.) 3(3dbl. B.Cl.) 3(Cbsn.) - 4 3 3 1: Timp. 3Perc. Pno./Cel. Hp. Str.
Premiere March 10, 2007 Gordon Theater at Rutgers - Camden Center for the Arts, Camden, NJ Haddonfield Symphony, Rossen Milanov, conductor.