Concerto for Violin and Orchestra

George Rochberg

Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The bulk of the writing of my violin concerto took place in the spring and summer of 1974. It is an elegiac work ? even romantic in spirit. From the first ideas that came to me through their eventual realization, I was conscious of one thing: to work out the tradition of the violin concerto which began with Mozart and continued through Bart

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the Pittsburgh Symphony for Isaac Stern.
Composition Date 1974
Duration 00:40:00
Orchestration Solo Vln.; 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1; Timp. Cel. 2Hp. Str.
Premiere April 4th, 1975. Isaac Stern, Violin, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Donald Johanos.