Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra

Full Score

Samuel Jones

Performing Ensemble: Orchestra
Instrumentation: solo Cello, Flute I, Flute II, doubling Piccolo, Oboe I, English Horn, Clarinet I in Bb, Clarinet II (in Bb, A), doubling on Bass Clarinet, Bassoon I, Bassoon II, Horn I, Horn II, Trumpet I in C, Trumpet II in C, Timpani, Percussion (Crotale, Sus. Cymbal,
Item Number: CY3502F
Number of Pages: 117
Duration: 0:21:00
Publisher: Campanile Music Press
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

On opening night of Gerard Schwarz' final season with the Seattle Symphony Orchestra, son Julian Schwarz performed Jones' Cello Concerto, written for the occasion, "...a virtuosic work of considerable drama and even theatricality," says R.M. Campbell of The Gathering Note. Of the performance, Gavin Borchert (Seattle Weekly) noted, "The Concerto is brief (20 minutes), but packed with ideas and generous with tunes; darker rather than lighter in mood; richly orchestrated but never overwhelming as a frame and complement to the soloist." For advanced performers. Dur.: 20'

Concerto for Violoncello and Orchestra

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Scores & Parts

Cello Concerto - Pno Reduction -
Cello Concerto - Solo Part -

Additional Information


1. Con brio - Andante mosso
2. Largo
3. Allegro