(In Four Parts) for Cello and Piano

Stephen Jaffe

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Cello with Piano
Instrumentation: Cello, Piano
Item Number: 144-40545
Number of Pages: 56+19
Duration: 0:24:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

For David Hardy (cello) and Lambertt Orkis (piano), Jaffe offers a four-movement work, with the outer movements "bigger and heavier" than the "lighter inner movements," according to the composer. From the outset, "the first movement boils, almost 'over the top', in its white hot and contradictory exchanges." The Sonata was premiered May 18, 2008 by the Kennedy Center Chamber Players, Washington DC. For advanced performers. Duration: 24'.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information


Fantasque (strange dialogue; not what it seems; fast zu ernst)
Breathing, still, undulating
Strutting (pizzicato caprice)
Finale (gradually assuming a running tempo)