String Quartet No. 5

Lukas Foss

Carl Fischer Chamber Music Edition
Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: String Quartet
Instrumentation: Violin I, Cello, Violin II, Viola
Item Number: PCB143
Number of Pages: 32
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

The Guarnieri String Quartet commissioned this challenging work, written in four movements. Foss presents the first two movements (Andante misterioso, and Andante moderato), and then concludes the work in the last two movements, which are variations on the first movements titled Variation on II (1st section) and Allegro furioso (variation on I). The style in the piece is the composer’s very personalized adaptation of a minimalist approach. A wonderful work by one of one of the world’s most noted American composers.

String Quartet No. 5

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information


I. Andantino misterioso
II. Allegro moderato
III. Variation on II (1st section)
IV. Allegro furioso (Variation on I)