String Quartet No. 4

“Mattinata Memoire”

Frederic Sharaf

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: String Quartet
Instrumentation: Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello
Item Number: BE13
Number of Pages: 32 + 16 + 16 + 16 + 16
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

"A stream of consciousness amalgam of different writing styles as I responded to contrapuntal structure from earlier melodic writing, the "Andante" is cantabile, in a program music design, evocative of the Impressionistic period. I used varied timbres and harmonies to produce mood and color in sound. Built on a curve form, the melodic line ascends and descends in step-wise fashion with a precarious sense of unresolved dissonance. The "Allegro Assai" is an imitative scherzo stressing the horizontal contours of the melodic lines, the quasi-contrapuntal using resolved appoggiaturas. The Adagio is introspective, triste; a lyrical movement with constant use of minor sixth as a building block The "Vivace con Fuoco, Feroce" is a contrapuntal movement, highly cadential, that builds a chaotic impression in sonata-allegro form." - Frederic Sharaf


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • BE13

Additional Information


I. Lento
II. Allegro assai
III. Adagio
IV. Vicace con fuoco, feroce