Symphony No. 4, Op. 34

Howard Hanson

Performing Ensemble: Orchestra
Instrumentation: 3(Picc.) 2 2 3(CBassoon,) - 4 2 3 1; Timp. Percussion, Hp. Str.
Item Number: ETO11F
Number of Pages: 80
Publisher: Eastman School of Music
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

Hanson's 4th Symphony takes its movements from the Requiem Mass, in honor of his father's passing. While Hanson considered this to be one of his finest works, the Pulitzer Prize jury obviously agreed - unanimously awarding the Prize in Music to Symphony No. 4 in 1944. Listen to a YouTube performance of the work, as the composer conducts the Eastman-Rochester Symphony Orchestra in 1953.

Symphony No. 4

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information