Symphony No. 5

"Sinfonia Sacra"

Howard Hanson

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: Orchestra
Item Number: ERA1014
Number of Pages: 47
Duration: 0:13:00
Publisher: Eastman School of Music
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

At the request of Eugene Ormandy (Philadelphia Orchestra), Hanson undertook his 5th Symphony ("Sinfonia Sacra"), meant to be an invocation of Easter. "...with its short phrases, passages of eerie beauty, and a spirited march, it doesn't sound all that 'religious.' (Classical Music: The Listener's Companion, edited by Alexander J. Morin) The full score is now available.

Symphony No. 5

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Scores & Parts

Symphony No. 5 (Sinfonia Sacra) - Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 1955
Duration 13:00
Orchestration 3(Picc.) 3(E.H.) 2 2 - 4 3 3 1; Timp. Perc. Hp. Str.