Matt Doran

Performing Ensemble: Woodwind Trio
Instrumentation: Flute, Alto Saxophone, Piano
Item Number: FH0007
Publisher: Falls House Press
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

The Adagio is built around a plaintive melody in the saxophone with a sparse piano accompaniment. This is expanded in the flute with a more fluid accompaniment in the piano. The Scherzo features triplets in the flute and duplets in the saxophone followed by a canonic theme in the two instruments and a new version in the piano alone. The Andante begins with flute and saxophone alone, then followed by a variation on the tune by solo piano and a combination of all three instruments at the end. The Allegro presents flute and saxophone in octaves against strict piano chords and played in various guises followed by a canonic section and return to the last theme in variations. Doran's music hovers over tonality. His favorite forms are theme, variations and rondo, and he enjoys the challenge of extracting as much color as possible from a few instruments. It is his intention to compose efficiently with well-balanced instruments for them to make the music attractive to play and hear!


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Additional Information