Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra

Clint Needham

Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The word ?voices? continually entered my mind while working on this composition. The term carries with it a variety of personal meanings, not the least of which is that music by the composers interned at the Terezin concentration camp became new voices for me as a listener. These voices, silenced by the horrific events of the Holocaust, resonated with me directly, as most of the composers were around my age when they perished. Their artistic perseverance in the face of unimaginable persecution was also a continual motivation while working on the piece. On a more technical note, the term ?voices? applies to the quartet itself. Members of the group act as both four separate voices and as a singular voice throughout the work.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by The Terezin Music Foundation and Institute for Holocaust Education, Omaha, for the Hawthorne String Quartet and Omaha Symphony.
Composition Date 2012
Duration 00:16:30
Orchestration Str.4tet.; 2 2 2 2 - 2 2 1 1; Timp. Perc. Pno. Hp. Str.
Premiere 28th October, 2012. Hawthorne String Quartet, Omaha Symphony, conducted by Thomas Wilkins; Joslyn Museum of Art, Omaha, NE.