Symphony No. 2 "Romantic" - 1st Mvt

Howard Hanson (composer), Todd Parrish (arranger)


  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Contrabass
  • Harp
Symphony No. 2 Romantic - 1st Mvt
The new Masterworks Series by Carl Fischer Music will showcase arrangements of 20th Century American composers. Symphony No. 2 by Howard Hanson is one of the most popular American Symphonies ever written, and is played regularly by major symphony orchestras around the world. It was originally commissioned by the Boston Symphony Orchestra to celebrate their 50th anniversary in 1930, where it was given its first performance. The work was most famously used in the end credits of the movie Alien in 1979. This arrangement focuses on the hauntingly beautiful second theme of the first movement. After being stated in the key of E-flat Major, it provides a contrasting section before returning in the key of D-flat Major. Cellos are featured prominently in tenor clef, and often cover the soaring horn solos from the original. Musicians will experience true symphonic beauty in this exquisite arrangement for strings and harp.
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Grade: 5
Duration: 4:47
Key: E major, D major
Tempo: Lento (q = 52)
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Item Status: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Page count: 138+Cover
Weight: 1.05 lbs.
UPC: 6-80160-91318-3
ISBN: 978-1-4911-5463-2
Copyright © 2020 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.