True Divided Light

David Carlson (composer)


  • Viola
  • Piano
Score and Parts; Book with Insert
Special Price $17.99 Regular Price $29.99
True Divided Light is a twenty minute piece for viola and piano in two contrasting movements. It was first performed on May 22, 2005 by violist Geraldine Walther, principal violist of the San Francisco Symphony, and accompanied by pianist Roy Bogas. The first movement, Lento luminoso, is rhapsodic and intensely lyrical, with a rich harmonic palette that suggests Messiaen at times. The second movement, Presto strepitoso, is a supercharged power house that gives the players a chance to show off their virtuosity. After a brief return to the style and mood of the piece’s beginning, True Divided Light ends with a brilliant flourish. This is challenging material for an experienced player.
SKU: B3425
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Accompanied: Accompanied Solo
Weight: 0.5 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-06218-7
ISBN: 978-0-8258-6218-2
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.