11:11 - A Dance at the Edge of the World

for Orchestra

David Maslanka (composer)
Piccolo, Flute 1, Flute 2, Oboe 1, Oboe 2, Clarine...
Score and Parts; Spiral Bound Book with Insert
Available on Rental
My first diary entries on 11:11 are from 1998. It was then that I began noticing the time 11:11 on digital clocks. For no apparent reason, and far more often than might be coincidence, my eye would be drawn to a clock and it would read 11:11. At first it was amusing, and then it became a bit spooky, as if something were trying to get my attention. I began to think and meditate on 11:11, and received images of impending crisis, and even disaster. Then I decided to write a piece out of these feelings. Surprisingly when the music finally came out it was not in a crisis mode. It is for the most part filled with a bright and hopeful spirit. My feeling now is that it represents what comes after crisis has been weathered: a huge release of energized creative flow ? a dance ? and in a time when old ideas are shaken and challenged, and the new must be invented, ?a dance at the edge of the world,? that is, dancing a new world into being. The Bach chorales have been a part of my study and meditation for many years, and the music of 11:11 grows out of three chorale melodies. The first, ?Wie bist du, meine Seele? (How are you, my soul), is stated at the beginning in my own arrangement, and the third, ?Du, O sch
SKU: C671
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Duration: 16:30
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Delivery Method: Print
Product Type: Score and Parts
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.