Yukiko Nishimura

  • Yukiko Nishimura, Composer/Pianist, was born in Japan. She graduated from Tokyo National University of Arts in 1990. In 1991, she began private study with Dr. Alfred Reed at the University of Miami and in 1993 she continued her studies with Dr. Richard Danielpour at Manhattan School of Music. Among her honors, are the special mention at the 15th and 26th International Competition for Original Composition for band in Corciano, Italy and the 6th Aoyama Award. Since 1996, she has given concerts consisting entirely of her own music in Japan. She gave a solo piano recital at New York Public Library, Donnell Library Center in 2003. In 2005, the commissioned work for the first silent film in the United States “Edison’s 1910 Frankenstein” for string quartet was premiered in Gettysburg College in Pennsylvania by Covington String Quartet. The music for the silent film “The Water Magician” directed by Kenji Mizoguchi in 1933 was premiered in 2007. In 2010, a theatrical work “Fantasy of Kenji” based on the stories by Kenji Miyazawa was premiered. In 2014, she collaborated with Noh play, which is Japanese traditional theater work, as a composer and a pianist.

    In 2017, her piano work was performed by America’s famous pianist Sara Davis Buechner at Carnegie Hall’s Weille Recital Hall. The work got some good reviews on The New York Times, New York Concert Reviews, and more. Her work was nominated in the category of Contemporary Classical/Instrumental for “Hollywood Music in Media Award” this year.

    Ms. Nishimura has received numerous commissions and has composed for piano, marimba, percussion, chamber music, band music, music for string instruments and orchestra. She has also been active as a pianist and an arranger. She has studied composition with Atsutada Otaka, Dr. Alfred Reed, Dr. Richard Danielpour, and Giampaolo Bracali. She studied piano with Ivan Davis and Dr. Sara Davis Buechner.


  • Cover Title (Subtitle) Duration Instrumentation
    YAS120 Ancient Flower
    4:22 String Orchestra
    YAS147 Angel’s Steps
    2:20 String Orchestra
    YAS161 Autumn Waltz
    3:08 String Orchestra
    CAS71 Blue Water
    String Orchestra
    YAS135 Bluebell
    4:05 String Orchestra
    CAS88 Cherry Tree
    String Orchestra
    CAS104 Meteor Shower
    5:20 String Orchestra
    YAS173 Morning Dew
    4:55 String Orchestra
    CAS64 Orange Moon
    String Orchestra
    CAS93 Petite Suite
    5:41 String Orchestra
    YAS100 Prelude To An Old Tale
    3:57 String Orchestra
    YAS140 Primula
    Joy to the Spring
    String Orchestra
    CAS78 Raindrops
    String Orchestra
    CAS61 Rainy Days
    String Orchestra
    CAS56 Sailing!
    String Orchestra
    YAS78 Snowflake
    String Orchestra
    CAS77 Swinging Door
    String Orchestra
    CAS94 Water Reflections
    5:36 String Orchestra
    YAS108 Winter Milky Way
    String Orchestra
    Wind Ensemble
    YPS156 Ancient Flower
    4:38 Concert Band
    CPS191 Merry-Go-Round
    4:33 Concert Band
    CPS170 Sailing!
    4:03 Concert Band
    CPS208 Winter Milky Way
    4:31 Concert Band

  • Yukiko Nishimura: Autumn Waltz

    Young Orchestras will enjoy this waltz meant to evoke leaves changing color and falling from trees.

    –Matthew Wright, ASTA Journal