The Muse Of Distraction

Joshua Green (composer)


  • Clarinet in B
  • Violoncello
  • Piano


Winner of the 2009 MTNA Composition Competition, promising young composer Joshua Green gives us a striking new work for clarinet, cello and piano, borne of an unlikely muse. According to the composer: For the better part of three months I fought an exasperating battle. While trying to compose a piece for clarinet, cello, and piano, a plethora of distractions had consumed my mind. This frustration seemed to amplify with the amount of time that passed. It was then that the following quotation came to my attention: ‘Life does not consist mainly, or even largely of facts and happenings. It consists mainly of the storm of thoughts that is forever flowing through one’s head.’ —Mark Twain. And so The Muse of Distraction was born. Rather than trying to fight the “storm of thoughts,” I allowed myself to compose a piece that embraced the frustration and irritation of those previous three months. Eventually these distractions were no longer my adversary. They became my muse.” For advanced players.
Tempo: As fast as possible, con fuoco
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Product Type: Score and Parts
Weight: 0.25 lbs.
UPC: 7-98408-07294-0
ISBN: 978-0-8258-7294-5
Copyright © 2022 Carl Fischer, LLC. All rights reserved.