3 Sonatas for Guitar and Violin, Op.18

Antoine De Lhoyer

Set of Parts
Performing Ensemble: Mixed Duet
Instrumentation: Violin, Guitar
Item Number: 494-02947
Number of Pages: 52
Publisher: Editions Orphee
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Sonata No. 2: Vivace
Duo A Corda
Media Icon
Sonata No. 1: Moderato
Oleg Timofeyev, Etienne Abelin
Media Icon
Sonata No. 1: La Chasse
Oleg Timofeyev, Etienne Abelin

Quick Overview

De Lhoyer's biography spans Europe, from his birth in France to his years in Russia and back again. It was during his connections with the Russian imperial court that he wrote his Three Sonatas, although the exact date is uncertain, for the five-string guitar and violin. Editor Orphee provides an excellent overview of the composer and work, along with notes for both parts. He notes the use of the Italian two-movemnet sonata form, in which each opening leads to a more lively second movement. For advanced performers.

Additional Information

Publisher ID EICM-25