After Serra

For Chamber Ensemble

Jason Eckardt

Full Score - Large
Instrumentation: fullscore, flute (with B key) / bass flute, clarinet in Bb / bass clarinet in Bb, violin, violoncello, piano
Item Number: MXE24F
Number of Pages: 84
Duration: 0:14:30
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

Serra's sculptures overwhelm the observer with their massive dimensions and sharply defined form. At the same time, they appear as if they might, with the slightest disturbance, collapse. As Serra's work disrupts the observer's sense of physical balance, After Serra similarly intends to undermine the listener's sense of temporal stability. My composition attempts to thwart expectations of formal and gestural continuity, juxtaposing a volatile and restless surface with steadily unfolding underlying processes." (Jason Eckardt)


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

  • MXE24F

Scores & Parts

After Serra - Set of Parts

Additional Information

Commission After Serra was commissioned by the Fromm Music Foundation and written for Roger Redgate and Esemble Expose who gave its first performance on April 5, 2000 at the Warehouse, London.
Duration 0:14:30