Black Light

Daniel Asia

Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

"Black Light" is in two movements that are played without break. The first is slow and calm, distant and ethereal. It is characterized by simple, ruminative melodies presented over a gentle accompaniment. It seems metaphorically like the quiet time before daybreak. The second movement is in three sections. The first is highly energetic, fast and brilliant. The second offers a brief respite, with a lyrical tune that runs throughout the section. The final section takes us back to the fast and energetic music of the opening of the movement. There is greater connection, however, between the movements than I have so far indicated. The gentle tune of the opening movement reappears a number of times in the second movement, always in widely spaced octaves, presented in skeletal fashion, as a gentle reminder of the movement?s previous calm. If the first movement is the quiet before daybreak, then surely this second movement is suggestive of the fierceness of the appearance of the sun (particularly in the Southwest), in all its glory, at that first instant of daybreak.

"Black Light" was written in the summer of 1990, based on sketches written during my stay in London 1987-88. The work was commissioned by the American Composers Orchestra, Dennis Russell Davies, Music Director, with funding provided by Francis Goelet.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the American Composers Orchestra, Dennis Russell Davies, Music Director.
Composition Date 1990
Duration 00:10:00
Orchestration 2 2 2 2 - 4 3 2 1; Timp. 3Perc. Pno. Hp. Str.
Premiere 13th October, 1991. American Composers Orchestra, conducted by Lawrence Leighton Smith.

Score Preview