Book of Memories

Suite for Flute, Viola and Harp

Paul Lansky

Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Mixed Ensemble
Instrumentation: Flute, Viola, Harp
Item Number: MXE51
Number of Pages: 174 (78 + 28 + 24 + 44)
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Made possible by the Chamber Music America Classical Commissioning Program, with generous funding provided by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, and the Chamber Music America Endowment Fund, Book of Memory is Lansky's conversation with music from the medieval, renaissance, baroque, classical, romantic, early-modern, and modern periods. These dialogs are sometimes obvious, sometimes not. Written for the Janus Trio, Book of Memory consists of seven movements preceded and connected by short interludes that comprise a setting of a poem by William Blake about memory. The seven main movements can also be performed as a group or individually, without the prelude and interludes.

More Views

  • MXE51

Additional Information


1. Antique Cadences
Interlude No. 1
2. Bransle
Interlude No. 2
3. Pastoral Counterpoint
Interlude No. 3
4. Scriabinade
Interlude No. 4
5. Lied
Interlude No. 5
6. Scherzo
Interlude No. 6
7. Lament

State Lists

NFA Newly Published Award