Chimes Mvt. I - Soul Rejoicing

On Reading V. Shukshyn Choral Symphony

Valery Gavrilin

Edited by Elena Sharkova
Performing Ensemble: SATB
Instrumentation: SATB divisi with Three Percussionists
Item Number: CM9327
Number of Pages: 32
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Chimes Mvt. I - Soul Rejoicing

Quick Overview

Soul Rejoicing opens with the stormy image of a band of horsemen riding fiercely in the darkness of a moonless night. Thus, with the sounds of pounding hooves and riders’ shouts, begins Perezvony (Chimes), Valery Gavrilin’s monumental multi-movement composition subtitled “On Reading V. Shukshyn Miracle Play—Choral Symphony.” Emotionally charged and rhythmically driven from the start, this movement continues to build with excitement and tension through Gavrilin’s brilliant use of choral texture, dynamics, and extended melodic lines. The text, written in the style of Russian folklore by the composer himself, doesn’t tell a story per se, rather it provides textual colors and strong images through many tongue-twisting, onomatopoeic word combinations such as “tuchi letuchie” (oppressive clouds), “slyozy solenye” (salty tears), “dushi palyonye” (scorched souls), etc. Dur.: 7’

More Views

  • Chimes Mvt. I - Soul Rejoicing
  • Chimes Mvt. I - Soul Rejoicing

Additional Materials

Additional Information

Editor Sharkova, Elena

State Lists

Texas All State