Concerto for Solo Percussion and Orchestra

Daniel Dorff

Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

In March, 1991, I heard Dean Witten perform Milhaud's Concerto for Percussion with the Haddonfield Symphony. I was fascinated with the idea of a concerto for mixed percussion and was sorry Milhaud's was so short, since it seemed such a ripe idea. Only two weeks later, the Percussive Arts Society's Polish Chapter commissioned me to compose a full-length percussion concerto for the 1992 International Percussion Workshops in Bydgoszcz, Poland.

Since my music is primarily lyrical, and most percussion isn't, it was a fascinating challenge to create an idiomatic and gratifying concerto. It was also fun to exploit the many sounds available in a musically coherent way. In the first movement the soloist enhances the form by using a large set-up of unpitched percussion for the main theme section, with marimba for the middle contrasting section. The second movement focuses on metal instruments, mixing pitched with unpitched. The final movement is even more focused, using only xylophone.

In 1991, Poland was an inspiring model of people's solidarity working to overcome Soviet oppression, just as Poland has been known for its resilient spirit and Russia for its imposing regimes throughout history. I couldn't help but be aware of this in composing the concerto, as the conflict was at the forefront of world politics at the time, and my ancestry is from these two countries. While the concerto is built in the traditional three-movement concert form, it also has a dramatic progression from repression to triumph of spirit. The motif A - G - F - E recurs and transforms throughout the concerto as an indicator of this struggle. On August 18, 1991, I finished drafting the end of the first movement which is the concerto?s darkest and most awesome depiction of Soviet control; ironically only two hours later, Gorbachev was deposed by the communist old-guard, leading to the collapse of the Soviet Union. The historic events which followed in Eastern Europe led to financial trouble for the Bydgoszcz Percussion Festival, which was cancelled.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Percussive Arts Society's Polish Chapter
Composition Date 1991
Duration 20:00
Orchestration Solo Perc.; 2(Picc.) 2 2 2 - 4 3 3(Euph.) 1; Timp. Perc. Hp. Str.
Premiere March 18th, 1995. Dean Witten, solo Percussion, Haddonfield Symphony, conducted by Alan Gilbert.


I. Moderato, intense
II. Mysterious, flexible tempo
III. Allegro volante

Score Preview