Concerto for Solo Harp and Orchestra

Robert Suderburg

Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

When Marilyn Costello asked for a major concerto for the harp, it was enlivening from a number of viewpoints. First was the opportunity to write a work for Marilyn, a consummate artist; second was the chance and challenge to write for the harp in a concerted manner, with and against a full symphony orchestra, hopefully in a fresh and intriguing manner. The result is a work of two movements, each beginning with a cadenze. The middle sections of each of these two movements, dark pageant and night presto, are musical journeys which lead respectively to a lyric reflection at the end of the first movement and a rather upbeat meditation to close the work. There are gestural outgrowths, cross-references and the like among the sections of each movement and also between movements. Most notable is that the cadenze material from the beginning of the first movement forms the basis for meditation at the work?s end. Hopefully, all is permeated with the vibrant and reverberant beauty which is the special provenance of the harp. For if anything was a chief stimulus for the work, along with it being performed by Marilyn Costello, it was the sound of the harp itself, so exciting in initial vibrance, then leaving a timbral shimmer so exquisite but so quickly gone.?

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Marilyn Costello
Composition Date 1982/89
Duration 00:25:00
Orchestration Solo Hp.; 4 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1; Timp. 3Perc. Str.
Premiere Original version: Philadelphia Orchestra, Marilyn Costello, harp. Revised version: Berkshire Symphony, Marilyn Costello, harp, Feldman, conductor, November 19, 1989

Score Preview