Concerto No. 1 for Timpani and Orchestra

William Kraft

Solo Part with Piano
Performing Ensemble: Percussion with Piano
Instrumentation: Timpani & Piano Reduction
Item Number: 114-40971
Number of Pages: 44
Duration: 23:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Concerto No. 1 for Timpani and Orchestra

Quick Overview

A timpani concerto written by a master timpanist is a rarity, indeed, and Kraft's Concerto No. 1 has become the go-to solo for timpanists who get to step out front. William Kraft was principal timpanist of the LA Philharmonic for 18 of his 26 years with the orchestra, assistant conductor for 3 of those years, and after his retirement served as its composer-in-residence for four seasons. During this latter period, he composed Concerto No. 1 for soloist Thomas Akins and the Indianapolis Symphony. With its 5 timpani set, the use of a variety of beaters and gloves expands the soloist's palette. The second movement is dedicated to Kraft's mother, who died during its composition; it is subtitled "Poem for Timpani, Two String Orchestras, Celeste, and Percussion," and the strings are divided antiphonally. We are pleased to make this piano reduction available.

More Views

  • Concerto No. 1 for Timpani and Orchestra

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Indiana Percussion Projects, Inc.


I. Allegretto
II. Poem For Timpani, Two String Orchestras, Celesta and Percussion
III. Fleeting