Isabelle Dances

For Solo Marimba

Steven Stucky

Solo Part
Performing Ensemble: Percussion Unaccompanied
Item Number: 144-40552
Number of Pages: 20
Duration: 15:00
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Isabelle Dances

Quick Overview

Composed for percussionist Isabelle Huang, the 15-minute suite Isabelle Dances, a sonic landscape for marimba, is explored in the course of four movements. The outer movements (Bounce and Stomp) showcase the marimba’s rhythmic drive and highly-charged neo-primitivism, while the inner movements (Dream and Hover) consist of inventive tremolos, evoking the unfolding of time. The second and fourth movements are subtitled as homages to Chopin and to Bartok. For advanced players. Dur.: 15’

More Views

  • Isabelle Dances
  • Isabelle Dances

Additional Information


1. Bounce
2. Dream - homage to Chopin
3. Hover
4. Stomp - homage to BartÝk