Four Fragments

For Solo Cello

Huang Ruo

Solo Part
Performing Ensemble: Cello Unaccompanied
Item Number: 114-41430
Number of Pages: 12
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Cast in four continuous movements, Four Fragments is a ravishing and theatrical showpiece that maximizes the cellist’s lyricism and fire, overflowing with declamatory and cadenza-like soliloquys clearly inspired by the composer’s cultural multi-dimensionalism. Ilona Oltuski at writes, "New York Times critic Alan Kozinn, who keeps a close watch on Ruo’s artistic development, describes the relationship between East and West in Ruo’s music: 'As in many of his scores, Chinese articulation styles – sliding notes and gracefully bending tones – mingle freely with Western moves and diatonic harmonies.'" For advanced cellists. Dur.: 13'30"

Four Fragments

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information