Four Pieces Quasi Sonata

For Viola and Piano

Stephen Jaffe

Solo Part with Piano Reduction
Performing Ensemble: Viola with Piano
Item Number: 144-40544
Number of Pages: 37+16
Duration: 0:17:00
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

With a grant from the Fromm Music Foundation, Harvard University, Jaffe has penned four divergent movements for violist Jonoathan Bagg. "With piano, the veiled warmth, and the mournful quality of the viola offered both the discovery of new and poetic joinings, and also the challenge of imagining passages of more virtuosic character which today’s players make the instrument capable of singing," says Jaffe. For advanced performers. Duration: 17'.

Four Pieces Quasi Sonata

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Commission The work was made possible with a grant from the Fromm Music Foundation, Harvard University


i. paysage (lyric resonace; bell, dove, bones, the blues; lamentation)
ii. Dialogue of figures (march-vivace; scherzo)
iii. Solo (Calmo, dolce)
iv. 'Tornello (kleine pop musik)