Ghosts and Gargoyles

Henry Brant

Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

Commissioned by Toronto?s New Music Concerts, Ghosts and Gargoyles was composed in the summer of 2001. The work is scored for solo flute (also playing piccolo and bass flute) with an octet comprised of piccolos, C-flutes, alto flutes, and bass flutes, plus a jazz drummer. The stage is occupied only by the soloist, the conductor, and the jazz drummer. The four duos of the octet are located in the four corners of the hall. Occasional quotations from ecclesiastic music by Allegri and Palestrina are intended to suggest ghostly intimations.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by: Toronto?s New Music Concerts
Composition Date 2001
Duration 00:20:00
Orchestration solo flute with flute octet and jazz drummer
Premiere 26th May, 2002. Toronto, Canada.

Score Preview