The Joseph Szigeti Collection

Alexander Scriabin
Jean Philippe Rameau
Federico Mompou
Giuseppe Tartini
Edouard Lalo
Johann Sebastian Bach
Philip Heseltine
Sigurd Lie
Manuel De Falla

Arranged by Joseph Szigeti
Transcribed by Joseph Szigeti
Solo Part with Piano Reduction
Performing Ensemble: Violin with Piano
Instrumentation: Violin, Piano
Item Number: ATF128
Number of Pages: 62
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Joseph Szigeti (1892-1973), was one of the outstanding violinists of the 20th century. Born and trained in Hungary, he eventually settled in the United States and became an American citizen. His playing was noted more for its probing musicianship than beautiful tone and he was a major inspiration for contemporary composers such as Bartók, Berg, Mihaud, Ravel and Stravinsky, whom he performed and promoted. His celebrated transcriptions and arrangements reflect his catholic and wide-ranging interests and this collection, devised by Eric Wen, contains many of the best of them including: Concerto in D Minor (Tartini), Passepied from Castor et Pollux (Rameau), Danse de Meunier (Miller's Dance) from The Three Cornered Hat (da Falla) and four excerpts from the Capriol Suite by Peter Warlock. (64pp. Piano part, 40pp. Violin part)

The Joseph Szigeti Collection

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Arranger Szigeti, Joseph
Transcriber Szigeti, Joseph


Concerto in D Minor
Concerto in D Minor
Concerto in D Minor
Danse du meunier
Jeunes filles au jardin
Etude in Thirds