Mark the Music!

David Ashley White

Text by William Shakespeare
Performing Ensemble: SATB
Instrumentation: SATB Voices, Piano, Optional Side Drum
Item Number: CM9469
Number of Pages: 20
Duration: :04:54
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Mark the Music!: 1. Lorenzo's Admonition
Media Icon
Mark the Music!: 2. Under the Greenwood Tree
Media Icon
Mark the Music!: 5. Blow, Blow Thou Winter Wind
Media Icon
Mark the Music!

Quick Overview

The writing of David Ashley White demonstrates a varied approach to texture, mood, and voicing. His choral cycle, Mark the Music!, takes its title from Lorenzo's Admonition in The Merchant of Venice. With texts found in Shakespeare's plays The Merchant of Venice, As You Like It, The Tempest and Twelfth Night, his three movements are scored for mixed chorus. Directors are free to program one, two or three of the movements as dictated by the needs of the ensemble. There are also movements for soprano and alto (CM9425 III. Full Fathom Five), and for tenor and bass (CM9439 IV. O Mistress Mine), both with piano accompaniment.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Duration 4:54


I. Lorenzo's admonition
II. Under the greenwood tree
III. Blow, blow thou winter wind