The Masks

Ronald Lo Presti

Transcribed by Gregory B. Rudgers
Carl Fischer Classic Band Edition
Full Score - Large
Performing Ensemble: Concert Band
Instrumentation: Piccolo, Timpani, Tenor II, Horn II, Horn IV, Tenor I, Bass Trombone, Euphonium, Baritone (Treble Clef in Bb), String Bass, Trumpet I, Baritone Saxophone, Tuba, Oboe, Trumpet III, Horn III, Horn I, Flute, Bassoon, Clarinet I, Clarinet II, Clarinet III, Ba
Item Number: J752F
Number of Pages: 32
Publisher: Eastman School of Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

The Masks was composed in 1955 as a two movement orchestral suite that was part of the American Composers' Edition series produced by Eastman in conjunction with Carl Fischer music publishers. Lo Presti, a student of Howard Hanson is perhaps best known for his Elegy for a Young American written for concert band. Indeed, The Masks is reminiscent of the Elegy in its romantic style with rich contemporary harmonies. There is no programmatic significance to the title, according to Lo Presti, other than the fact that the two movements are in contrasting moods, much like the Greek masks of comedy and drama. Gregory Rudgers transcription is authentic to the orginal piece and gives bands everywhere a new LoPresti piece of significance.

The Masks

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Transcriber Rudgers, Gregory B.


I. Andante Tranquillo
II. Allegro Moderato