The Masks

Ronald Lo Presti

Transcribed by Gregory B. Rudgers
A Carl Fischer Classic Band Edition
Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: Concert Band
Instrumentation: Piccolo, Timpani, Trumpet III, Horn I, Horn II, Horn III, Horn IV, Tenor I, Bass Trombone, ContraBass, Tenor II, Trumpet II, Bassoon, Tuba, Clarinet II, Trumpet I, Baritone Saxophone, Alto Saxophone I, Alto Saxophone II, Clarinet III, Clarinet I, Flute, T
Item Number: J752
Number of Pages: 32
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

The Masks was composed in 1955 as a two movement orchestral suite that was part of the American Composers' Edition series produced by Eastman in conjunction with Carl Fischer music publishers. Lo Presti, a student of Howard Hanson is perhaps best known for his Elegy for a Young American written for concert band. Indeed, The Masks is reminiscent of the Elegy in its romantic style with rich contemporary harmonies. There is no programmatic significance to the title, according to Lo Presti, other than the fact that the two movements are in contrasting moods, much like the Greek masks of comedy and drama. Gregory Rudgers transcription is authentic to the orginal piece and gives bands everywhere a new LoPresti piece of significance.

More Views

  • The Masks
  • The Masks

Additional Information

Transcriber Rudgers, Gregory B.


I. Andante Tranquillo
II. Allegro Moderato