Meditation From The Opera 'Thais'

Jules Massenet

Arranged by Paul Taffanel
Set of Parts
Instrumentation: Flute solo, Piano
Item Number: CU1028
Number of Pages: 5
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

One of the world's greatest encore pieces, the “Meditation” comes from the opera Thaïs, written by French composer Jules Massenet in 1893. Thaïs is based on a novel by the French author Anatole France, which tells of a fourth-century Egyptian courtesan called Thaïs, who was converted to Christianity by a hermit monk who lived in the desert, and eventually became a saint. The opera was a great success, and stayed in the repertory of the Paris Opera continuously until 1956. In the opera, the piece serves as a symphonic intermezzo in Act II. Although in its original form it is essentially a violin solo, it has been transcribed for almost every conceivable instrument, and is often played at flute recitals.

Meditation From The Opera 'Thais'

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Arranger Taffanel, Paul

State Lists

Florida Bandmasters