Midnight Passage

for Solo Bassoon, Winds, Piano and Percussion

Sydney Hodkinson

Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

In referring to writing transcriptions of his own previously-composed works, the Italian artist Luciano Berio said it was akin to ?peeling away the layers of an onion.? When a university colleague requested an arrangement of my solo etude ?Night Watch? (2010) for bassoon and concert band, I pondered the rectitude of Mr. Berio's comment. The accompaniment for the piece that resulted was for a brass / percussion ensemble, not band, and extended the earlier composition into somewhat different territory.

The sonic world of brass coupled with the solo woodwind appealed to me. The work is in four sections: a rather vociferous prelude, a quick scherzo followed by a brief return to the opening material, and an extended coda. This last part - marked ?very freely, coolly? - carries the soloist into the bassoon's keening upper register, closing the piece calmly, but still suspended.

Midnight Passage is roughly twelve minutes in duration. The score is dedicated to the American bassoonist Dr. Ashley Heintzen, who commissioned it; it was completed in January of 2012 in Ormond-by-the-Sea, Florida. The Stetson University Symphonic Band, Bobby Adams, conductor, presented the premiere performance during the 2012-2013 concert season.

Available on Rental

Scores & Parts

Midnight Passage - Full Score - Study

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Dr. Ashley Heintzen and the Stetson University Symphonic Band, Bobby Adams, conductor
Composition Date 2012
Duration 00:12:00
Orchestration Solo Bsn.; 4 3 3 1, Euph.; Timp. 3Perc. Pno.(dbl. Cel.) Hp.
Premiere October 19, 2013 - Stetson University, DeLand, Florida Stetson University Symphonic Band Douglas L. Phillips, Conductor Ashley Heintzen, Bassoon

Score Preview