Battlefield Requiem

David Leisner

Set of Parts
Performing Ensemble: Mixed Ensemble
Instrumentation: Solo Cello, Percussion Quartet
Item Number: 144-40720M
Number of Pages: 56
Duration: 15:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

With a lone cello and four percussionists, Leisner considers the horror and waste of war - the few who lust for power, the millions who suffer and die. A requiem mass is played by instruments, followed by a gathering of armies, an all-out conflict, and the heart-rending lament of survivors. The percussionists use a wide variety of materials, from vibraphone and marimba to drums, tubular bells, chains, thunder sheet, anvil, whip, and more.

Scores & Parts

Battlefield Requiem - Score and Part(s)
Battlefield Requiem - Full Score - Large

Additional Information

Composition Date 1995


I. Kyrie (Gathering)
II. Dies Irae (Combat)
III. Libera Me (Survivor's Soliloquy)
IV. Lux Aeterna (In the Air)