Mooch The Magnificent

A Children's Opera In One Act

Lauren Bernofsky

Libretto by Scott Russell Sanders
Piano Reduction/Vocal Score
Performing Ensemble: Chamber Ensemble
Instrumentation: Narrator, Mooch (soprano), Unicorn (alto), Lion (tenor), Orlando Spinks (baritone), Clarinet, Optional onstage violin, Cello, Percussion (one player): Ratchet, Cowbell, Vibraslap, Triangle (medium), Triangle (high), Suspended Cymbal (hard and soft mallets
Item Number: 441-41028
Number of Pages: 80
Text: Libretto by Scott Russell Sanders
Duration: 0:40:00
Publisher: Theodore Presser Company
Print Status: Custom Print, 4-5 days


Quick Overview

Commissioned, premiered, and frequently performed by Roundabout Opera for Kids, Mooch the Magnificent is a 40-minute opera (with a 30-minute alternate version), scored for SATB principal roles, extra speaking and non-speaking parts, and an ensemble of Clarinet, Cello, Percussion, and Piano. It may also be performed in piano reduction. In a zoo of the future, populated not by animals but by robots in animal form, Mooch, an orphan girl, convinces the zookeeper to hire her to fix the robots when they break down, but she is actually reprogramming them to be increasingly wild. The opera takes place in a dome-covered city that is part of a worldwide network of such cities, connected by travel tubes, sealed off from the outside. The time is late twenty-first century, after human beings, afraid of the wilds, have moved indoors.

Mooch The Magnificent

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Kimberly Carballo, Roundabout Opera for Kids
Librettist Sanders, Scott Russell


Aria: "I love mechanicals"
Aria: "My name is Mooch"
Aria: "I'll make your lion dance"
Aria: "Oh, I am the King of the Jungle"
Aria: "Oh, I am the Queen of the Zoo"
Aria: "I'm sick of mechanicals"
Aria: "Oh, my, what's that rumble?"
Duet: "They'll kick us out of the zoo"
Aria: "But why do you stare"
Trio: "But here's the actual story"
Aria: "I must say to you, friendly dragon"
Duo: "The sea"
Aria: "I lived out there"
Aria: "I wish that I could stay here"
Duo: "We're no longer content to stay in the zoo"
Aria: "Yes, a lion that bites"
Quartet: "That's what I once thought"
Aria: "It's true, I never missed the wilds"
Quartet: "Oh, children, do as we do"