Oboe Concerto

Francis Thorne

Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

My Oboe Concerto?s birth was rather bizarre. Originally to be for the American Composer?s Orchestra?s 25th anniversary concert, it was suddenly an orphan when Dennis Russell Davies decided he wanted a concerto for orchestra to show off many players. Then, Gerard Schwarz took it up for a premiere in the 2002-2003 season with the New York Chamber Symphony. When the future of that ensemble seemed in doubt, Maestro Schwarz moved it to Seattle, where it received its premiere with Randall Ellis as soloist. It was like a homecoming, as it was my third work to be performed by the Seattle Symphony in five years.

The Concerto is in three movements with a duration of about 21 minutes. The structure is balanced, with the first movement starting with just the solo oboe and harp, building in tempo and orchestral participation to a loud maestoso finish. Movement two is a short ?scherzo giocoso,? sprightly with a slow contrasting middle section. The finale begins with the orchestra predominating but gradually pulling back to the oboe and harp in a quiet, slow ending.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 2000
Duration 00:21:00
Orchestration Solo Ob.; 1(dbl. Picc) 0 1 1 - 1 1 0 0; 1Perc. Hp. Str.
Premiere 16 January 2003. Randall Ellis, oboe, Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Alastair Willis, conductor, Benaroya Hall, Seattle