Pan Penseroso

for Flute and Orchestra

Martin Bresnick

Duration: 00:18:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

?Pan Penseroso? and the titles of its three movements are taken from John Milton?s great poem ?Il Penseroso? (The Contemplative Man). The music aligns itself with this response to the poet?s earlier ?L?Allegro? (the Cheerful Man). In my concerto the flutist Pan, like the mature Milton, casts a reflective musical eye on the world, renouncing all ?vain deluding joyes?, so as to better hear the ?Sweet Bird that shunn?st the noise of folly??

Written for the master flutist Robert Dick, Pan Penseroso includes a number of procedures explored in his pioneering book ?The Other Flute: A performance Manual of Contemporary Techniques.?

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by the National Flute Association, Inc. for Robert Dick
Orchestration Solo Fl.; 0 2 2 2 - 2 2 2(B.Tbn.) 0; Vib. Str.
Premiere 15th August, 2009, Robert Dick, solo flute; orchestra conducted by Ransom Wilson. National Flute Association Convention, Broadway Ballroom, Marriott Marquis Hotel, New York, NY.


I: The Noise of Folly
II: Pan Penseroso
III: More is Meant (than meets the ear)