Fanfare for Chamber Orchestra

Ronald Caltabiano

Publisher: Merion Music, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The original, small orchestra, version of "Pegasus" was written for the Sinfonia Viva Orchestra of England (formerly the East of England Orchestra) as a thank-you to their conductor, Nicholas Kok, who has conducted a number of pieces of mine in recent years. The orchestra, in turn, intended the piece as a thank-you to the Rolls Royce Corporation, who has long supported that ensemble. Using the birth of Pegasus (the fall of Maids, the winged horse emerging from her blood, and Pegasus's ascent to the heavens) was actually inspired by the name of the Rolls Royce jet engine called "Pegasus". Sinfonia Viva premiered the work in November 2000.

"Pegasus" was expanded to a full-orchestra version for the West Hollywood Symphony, which gave the American premiere of the work in April 2001.

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 2000
Duration 00:04:15
Orchestration 2 2 2 2 - 2 2 0 0; Timp. Str.
Premiere November, 2000. Sinfonia Viva (then East of England Orchestra), conducted by Nicholas Kok, Nottingham, U.K.