Protocol: A Guide To The Collegiate Audition Process for Cello

Foreword and Additional Editing By Richard Hughey

Camille Saint-Saens & Daniel Van Goens

Edited by Richard Hughey & Larry Clark
Instrumentation: Cello, Piano
Item Number: BF57
Number of Pages: 104
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Providing useful reference and audition material for college-bound string players, the Protocol series was created by college/university music educators and include the most frequently requested audition requirements from many universities. Not only does it help build a player’s repertoire, but it also exposes students to the expectations of the audition process, creating a comfort level that allows for the best audition possible. Students will go into their auditions completely prepared with help from this series.

More Views

  • Protocol: A Guide To The Collegiate Audition Process for Cello
  • Protocol: A Guide To The Collegiate Audition Process for Cello

Additional Information

Editor Hughey, Richard , Clark, Larry


Foreword by Richard Hughey
About Doris Gazda
About Larry Clark and Daniel Schmidt
How to Use This Book
How to Take an Audition
Ear-Training and Music- Theory Placement Exams
Considerations for Choosing an Institution
Repertoire Included on Most Lists of Required Audition Material
Major Scales and Arpeggios
Chromatic Scale
Minor Scales and Arpeggios
"Symphony No. 35 in D Major (""Haffner""), K. 385 (movement IV) ù Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart"
"Symphony No. 5 in C Minor, Op. 67 (movement II) ù Ludwig van Beethoven"
"Scherzo from A Midsummer Night's Dream, Op. 61ù Felix Mendelssohn"
"Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73 (movement II) ù Johannes Brahms"
"Symphony No. 8 in G Major, Op. 88 ( movement I) ù Antonin Dvorak"
"Etude No. 11 from Modern Method for Violoncello, Vol. 2 ù Stephen De'ak"
"Etude Op. 11, No. 4 ù Joseph Merk"
"Etude Op. 25, No. 1ù Alfredo Piatti"
"Suite No. 1 in G Major for Cello, BWV 1007 ù Johann Sebastian Bach"
"Scherzo, Op. 12, No. 2 ù Daniel Francois van Goens"
The Swan from The Carnival of the Animals ù Camille Saint-SaÔns
"Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 33 ù Camille Saint SaÔns"