Clarinet Concerto


Jonathan Leshnoff

Performing Ensemble: Clarinet with Orchestra
Duration: 20:00
Publisher: Leshnoff Publishing
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

The Philadelphia Orchestra continues to commission new works for its principals, and 2016 saw the pairing of Jonathan Leshnoff with Philadelphia principal clarinetist, Ricardo Morales. The Philadelphia Orchestra, under the direction of Yannick Nezet-Seguin, gave the world premiere of the Clarinet Concerto in April 2016. In Leshnoff's writing, the performance depends upon the soloist to "delve deep to unearth the inner meaning of the lines," while Morales admits, "I'm mesmerized by his melodic style."

Additional Information

Commission The Philadelphia Orchestra
Composition Date 2015
Orchestration Solo Cl.; 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1; Timp. Hp. Str.
Premiere The Philadelphia Orchestra conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin, soloist Ricardo Morales (April 14, 2016)

Score Preview