Violin Concerto No. 1

Jonathan Leshnoff

Performing Ensemble: Violin with Orchestra
Duration: 23:00
Publisher: Leshnoff Publishing
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

This beloved concerto, the first in a strong series of concerti in Leshnoff's catalog, was commissioned by major orchestras from Buffalo to Columbus to Mexico. The standout second movement features achingly beautiful melodic lines over a murmuring orchestral accompaniment.

Additional Information

Commission Columbus Symphony Orchestra, Buffalo Philharmonic, Baltimore Chamber Orchestra, National Repertory Orchestra, National Symphony of Mexico, Mr. Robert Kent Scott and Mr. Jeremiah German
Composition Date 2005
Orchestration Solo Vln.; 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 2 1; Timp. Perc. Hp. Pno. Str.
Premiere Columbus Symphony Orchestra conducted by Markand Thakar, soloist Charles Wetherbee, Ohio Theater, Columbus, OH (November 19, 2005)