Riff and Transfiguration

Suite for Piano Solo

Lee Hyla

Text by Lee Hyla
Carl Fischer Chamber Music Edition
Performance Score
Performing Ensemble: Piano Unaccompanied
Instrumentation: Piano
Item Number: PL121
Number of Pages: 42
Duration: 18:00
Publisher: Pembroke Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Riff and Transfiguration is a suite for solo piano in seven relatively brief movements. A riff, for the purposes of this piece, can be described as a condensed, rhythmically incisive phrase that repeats. These phrases appear in various guises throughout the piece. Each of these pieces has a distinct character; however, much of the material is shared and transformed from movement to movement. Concert Artists Guild commissioned this piece for Mia Chung, winner of the first prize in the 1993 Concert Artists Guild New York competition. It has duration of eighteen minutes. This is a fine recital piece for the advanced player.

More Views

  • Riff and Transfiguration
  • Riff and Transfiguration

Additional Information

Commission Commissioned by Concert Artist's Guild.
Composition Date 1997