Daniel S. Godfrey

Carl Fischer Chamber Music Edition
Score and Part(s)
Performing Ensemble: String Quartet
Instrumentation: Violin I, Violin II, Viola, Cello
Item Number: BE3
Number of Pages: 18
Duration: 0:10:00
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Sample Media

Media Icon
Romanza by Daniel S. Godfrey - the Cassatt String Quartet

Quick Overview

Romanza is a revised version of the second movement from Godfrey’s String Quartet No. 1 with adaptations allowing the movement to stand alone as a separate composition. As its title reflects, this work can be heard as an extended aria for string quartet, with an intimately personal undercurrent. Godfrey has significantly refined and clarified Romanza since its main theme and harmonization first came to mind almost forty years ago. The Cassatt String Quartet first performed this piece in October 2002 at the Mannes College of Music in New York City.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views

Scores & Parts

Romanza - Full Score - Large
Romanza - Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 1974, rev. 2001
Duration 10'