Rostropovich: In Memorium

9 Solos in Honor of the Maestro's Legacy. Edited by Marion Feldman.

Edited by Marion Feldman
Performing Ensemble: Cello with Piano
Instrumentation: Cello, Piano
Item Number: BF76
Number of Pages: 72 + 24
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

This collection, compiled and edited by Marion Feldman, is dedicated to the legacy of Mstislav Rostropovich. The nine works presented were performed throughout his career and reflect his depths of virtuosity and interpretation. The pieces include eighteenth-century classics from Popper and Goltermann, and Russian romantic works by Tchaikovsky, Cui and Rimsky-Korsakov, and Rachmaninoff. All pieces are newly engraved and contain updated fingerings and bowings. Unique to this edition are a collection of rarely seen photos, as well as two interviews with Maestro Rostropovich and his daughter, Olga. A befitting tribute to the beloved virtuoso, artist and statesmen and a welcome addition to any musical library.

More Views

  • Rostropovich: In Memorium
  • Rostropovich: In Memorium

Additional Information

Editor Feldman, Marion


Introduction: About Mstislav Rostropovich
A Conversation with Mstislav Rostropovich (by Tim Janoff)
A Conversation with Olga Rostropovich (by Tim Janoff)
About Marion Feldman
"Ballade (Third Movement from Suite for Cello and Piano), Op. 69 - Popper, D."
"Capriccio, Op. 24 - Goltermann, G."
"Chanson triste (from Douze morceaux for Piano), Op. 40, No. 2 - Tchaikovsky, P.I."
"Dance of the Elves (Elfentanz), Op. 39 - Popper, D."
"Flight of the Bumblebee (from the Opera Tsar Saltan) - Rimsky-Korsakov, N."
"Nocturne (from Six morceaux for Piano), Op. 19, No. 4 - Tchaikovsky, P.I."
"Orientale (from Kaleidoscope for Violin and Piano), Op. 50, No. 4 - Cui, C."
"Pezzo capriccioso for Cello and Orchestra, Op. 62 - Tchaikovsky, P.I."
"Vocalise, Op. 34, No. 14 - Rachmaninoff, S."