Sextet In E Minor

Gustavus T. Holst

Item Number: RE42015
Publisher: Ries & Erler Musikverlag
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

This charming student work by English composer Gustav Holst (1874-1934), was discovered by editor/arranger Helge Bartholom?us in the catalog of Holst?s works prepared by his daughter, Imogen Holst. There it has a composition date of 1900. The work is in four short movements laid out along classical lines (1. Moderato, 2. Scherzo: Allegro Vivo, 3. Adagio-Andante maestoso, 4. Allegretto). In general, Sextet follows the conventional formal patterns of its time and the influence of Holst?s primary teacher, Sir Charles Stanford. The reigning models of the 19th Century in chamber music (Mendelssohn, Schumann and Brahms) are evident. The last movement, a theme and variations with the theme introduced by pizzicato strings, is particularly effective.


Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

Additional Information

Duration 0:0:0