Sinfonia Sacra

for Mezzo-Soprano and Orchestra

Heskel Brisman

Publisher: Elkan-Vogel, Inc.
Print Status: Rental

Quick Overview

Sinfonia Sacra is the second of four sinfonie, each one different in its thrust and formal structure. The first, Sinfonia Breve, uses traditional forms (sonata, rondo, etc.). The Sinfonia Sacra is structurally much more free, creating its own form guided by the meaning of the text. Thematic repetition and variation is the cement that holds the work together. Towards the end of the third movement, material from the first movement is reintroduced, as if to say: ?this has been stated before, but its depth and poignancy bear repetition. It is universal.?

Available on Rental

Additional Information

Composition Date 1997
Duration 00:16:30
Orchestration Solo Mezzo-sop.; 2 2 2 2 - 2 2 0 0; Timp. Perc. Str.
Premiere November 17th, 1997. Jane Bunnell/Mezzo-Soprano, New York Chamber Symphony, conducted by Gerard Schwarz. Avery Fisher Hall, New York.