String Quartet No. 2


Martin Bresnick

Full Score - Study
Performing Ensemble: String Quartet
Instrumentation: Violin I, Cello, Violin II, Viola
Item Number: SC59
Number of Pages: 42
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Print Status: In Print


Quick Overview

Each of the titles of the five movements in this piece were taken from a number of events, real or imaginary, in the lives of Alexander the Great and his war horse, Bucephalus. The piece was written for György Ligeti’s 60th birthday and was commissioned by the Alexander String Quartet with support of Chamber Music America and the Connecticut Commission for the Arts.

Additional Information


Around the Sun
At Jhelum
The new advocate